Follow me in twitter. FLAAR reports Add a Nicholas Hellmunth to yor network. FLAAR reports.
| Share
News Feeds:

Finally, full-sized 3D signage at last possible

Posted September 25, 2015

Since so many people around the world ask us how they can produce 3D signage, we had to caution print shops that most normal 3D printers can only produce an item a few centimeters in size.

So for past years, the best way to produce 3D signage was with other techniques (which we detail in our lectures and in our FLAAR Reports).

Now all this has changed. Now a company has developed a new chemistry (a new build-up material) and new 3D imaging concepts to allow creating objects 1.8 meters in height, 1.5 meters in width, and 1.2 METERS in depth.

Wow, sure is a breakthrough.

Innovation is what pushes progress, and this will cause ripples among all the other competitors, which will result in better 3D printers in all aspects (and all sizes).

Because the Hellmuth family background is architecture (HOK Architects (father and cousin) and Hellmuth & Bicknese (brother) are two examples), we have a long term interest in all aspects of architecture: especially 3D models. So in past years we have visited Objet Geometries world headquarters. This is a 3D printer that actually uses printheads.

By coincidence last week we were in the same restaurant as a team from Stratasys 3D printer company. So we are seeing 3D everywhere.

The new giant sized 3D technology is from Massivit, We hope to see this up close and in-person when possible. is the new giant size company


3D PRINTSHOW, co-located with Sign Istanbul

Updated September 24, 2015

Two of us from FLAAR Reports are eagerly attended 3D PRINTSHOW, co-located with Sign Istanbul.

We congratulate the organizers of both expos (IFO for Sign Istanbul and Tarsus 3D for PRINTSHOW team) for co-locating together.

Of course in actuality, these are 3D additive manufacturing machines, previously called rapid prototypers. But the jargon “3D printers” is more catchy, more alluring. So even though 90% of these machines do not use printheads (they extrude melted plastics and other technologies and chemistries), worldwide they are (mis)labeled as 3D printers. But they are definitely 3 dimensional.

FLAAR has been evaluating actual real 3D printers for many years back already (using either HP, Canon, or Ricoh printheads). We have visited training centers in USA and also the world headquarters for Objet Geometries. Object Geometries is now one of the brands of Stratasys.

One of our interests is to learn what technologies and chemistries can best produce 3D signage and 3D graphics. We will be lecturing on this topic at GOA 2016 in Miami. Last month Dr Nicholas gave two lectures on 3D signage in Johannesburg, South Africa. And last week we enjoyed visiting 3D PRINTSHOW, co-located with Sign Istanbul 2015.

Sign IstanbulWe hope to see you at both 3D PRINTSHOW and Sign Istanbul in beautiful Istanbul, Turkey, in 2016.

Tuyap Fair and Congress Center, Istanbul, Turkey, 29 September through 2 October, 2016


Recommending attending SIGGRAPH 2015

Posted June 16, 2015

We cover 3D in unique ways which are not written about elsewhere. Plus Dr Nicholas Hellmuth lectures around the world on 3D printing. However our focus is far beyond "3D printers" since to create eye-catching 3D signage your image has to be life-sized. 99% of the 3D printers can't produce more than a few inches in height. So Dr Nicholas has been reviewing and writing about every other technology to produce real 3D signage. In fact he has been lecturing on this topic and/or writing for trade magazines about 3D production in USA, Africa, and Dubai.

Of course we are also interested in 3D graphic design for future animation, which is one of many reasons why we will be writing about what is great to see at SIGGRAPH 2015.

conferences, 9-13 August 2015
Exhibition, 11-13-August 2015

Melanny Quinonez has been researching and writing about Wacom pen tablets and Andrea Mendoza has researched information related to 3D technologies.

Sketchbook pro software aplicacion dibujo pintura evaluacion AutoDesk FLAAR Reports Tabletas gráficas Wacom evaluación Como usar FLAAR Reports Sketchbook Pro Drawing app Painting software AutoDesk FLAAR Reports Graphic Tablets Wacom iPad Drawing painting FLAAR Reports
Ceiba pentandra 3D DJI Phantom 2 review scanning Drone FLAAR Reports 3D scanning moving objects 2015 Flaar Reports

3D scanners at DEAL 2015 trade show, Dubai

Updated Junel 17, 2015
Posted April 15, 2015

Dr Nicholas Hellmuth (FLAAR) was at DEAL trade show in Dubai this week, flown there by IEC, the organizers of this theme park expo.

We had a meeting with Andrei Vakulenko, VP New Markets, Artec Group, to look at their whole body scanner.

This meeting was arranged via ME Printer magazine editor introducing FLAAR to ACTIVE, the PR agency for Artec in Dubai (we write articles for ME Printer magazine for many years).

palo de Campeche tinto Haematoxylum campechianum Guatemala Belize logwood
Dr Hellmuth and Andrei Vakulenko, VP New Markets, Artec Group (3D scanners) at DEAL 2015 in Dubai.

Nicholas Hellmuth Full body 3D ScanNicholas Hellmuth Full body 3D ScanNicholas Hellmuth Full body 3D Scan
Full body 3D scan of Dr Hellmuth, made by New Markets, Artec Group



3D Printers at APPPEXPO this July in Shanghai:

Virtually every signage printer trade magazine in the world has done articles on "3D printers" in the last several months. Even Drupa said that 3D printers would be its feature for 2016.

But do these PR people have any idea that most "3D printers" are not printers at all. Most lay down melted plastics. Only a few use printheads.

Even the FESPA official expo daily newspaper had a feature article on 3D printers. Yet 3D printers at FESPA last week, sorry, almost none on exhibit at all. The few "3D printers" turned out to be sublimation systems to sublimate onto 3D objects which already existed.

If you want to see many different brands of 3D rapid prototypers then come to APPPEXPO 2014 this July in Shanghai. This is the largest printer, signage, advertising expo in the world (for wide-format inkjet printers, inks, media, laminators, coaters, cutters it is larger than Drupa+FESPA+USA expos all put together.

FLAAR attends APPPEXPO every year, indeed we fly five of our team here. We will be there to see whats new and interesting in 3-dimensional signage (of all technologies).


3d printing the new industrial revolution:

One technical writer from FLAAR Reports visited RAPID 2013 Conference and Exposition held at Pittsburgh Pennsylvania. FLAAR Reports visited the show to learn more on 3d laser scanners imaging technologies and 3dprinting (additive manufacturing). We got the surprise that everybody is talking about:


Please download our free reports to learn more.


FLAAR is evaluating Photogrammetry techniques for Ethnobotanical studies

FLAAR evaluating 3D software that captures geometric properties and texture and needs no expensive scanning equipment

At FLAAR we are using Photogrammetry techniques to analyze the different aspects of Guatemalan fruits.

We are testing a remarkable software that captures the geometric properties and texture of a real object and creates a 3D model by using digital cameras, a technique that we are surprised exists and it’s accessible for everyone.

The significant difference with this revolutionary new software is that it requires NO expensive scanning equipment (you use the basic digital camera, or even your Iphone, which you already have). PLUS, this new system allows scans in full color (if you use costly CO2 or laser scanning equipment you get only a model with zero actual true color).

Wait for our free downloadable FLAAR Report on creating 3D models using digital cameras to learn more about this technology and the results we obtained by using it.

First posted November 07, 2012.


FLAAR Reports team at 3D expo, RAPID 2012


Two of us attended RAPID Conference and Exposition 2012 in Atlanta, Georgia to evaluate all the innovations in the field of 3D imaging combined with additive manufacturing technologies.

We will be updating our website and reports on the newest information about 3D scanners, additive manufacturing technologies, 3D imaging software reviews and more.

All reports on RAPID 2012 are free downloads.

Last updated November 07, 2012. First posted May 22, 2012, updated May 24, Jun 08.

Reports on RAPID 2012, 3D scanners, software and prototyping
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 3


FLAAR Network sites:

FLAAR Mesoamerica, Guatemala e-mail | © FLAAR Network. 2010. All rights reserved. Redesign March, 2008 Use of this website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use. Any problem with this site please report it to the webmaster, or if you note any error, omission, or have a different opinion on a review, please contact the review editor,

Copyright © 2015. Powered by FLAAR