Follow me in twitter. FLAAR reports Add a Nicholas Hellmunth to yor network. FLAAR reports.
| Share
News Feeds:
Print
E-mail

SIGGRAPH 2016, conferences and exhibition, is in two months

Posted May 10, 2016 by Diana Cruz and Vivian Diaz

siggraph2016


Conferences are five educational days, 24-28 July, Anaheim, California. The official name is 43rd SIGGRAPH Conference on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques.

SIGGRAPH exhibition is 26-28 July.

We at FLAAR Reports have experience at SIGGRAPH and for this reason we can state that it is definitely worth attending, both the conferences and the trade show. There are various web sites, one is www.s2016.siggraph.org. We hope to see you there in July.

 
Print
E-mail

Learning about scanning animals for 3D digital imaging

Posted January 25, 2016

Today Andrea Mendoza, our 3D specialist, photographed a hummingbird to try to achieve a 3D scan.

Birds crash into our office windows about every two months. We have put masking tape and curtains (so that they can see the window as an object, and thus avoid it). But the mirror effect at certain sunlight hours evidently gets the birds confused.

We administer emergency first aid to any bird who smashes into the window, but this hummingbird probably had a broken neck and was dead before or immediately after it hit the tile floor after crashing into the glass at full speed.

Once the digital images are processed, we will see whether enough photos were taken. Snag is taking “side views.” Top and bottom are easy.

 
Print
E-mail

3D “scans” of entire thatch-roofed Mayan house architecture in Guatemala

Posted January 8, 2016

Using a drone and a drone pilot, we have both video and digital photographs of a dozen different thatch-roofed Mayan houses in the Q’eqchi’ Mayan area of Guatemala, Central America.

We took two 4WD double-cabin pickup trucks with a team of 10 of us from FLAAR Mesoamerica, and spent five days exploring the remote jungle-covered mountain areas of Alta Verapaz, Guatemala.

We found houses with roofs out of “banana leaves” (banana is not native but there are a dozen species of native heliconia plants which have leaves of similar size and shape). These platinillo leaves are used for thatching in remote areas. 99% of thatched houses are of palm fronds, so finding houses of ak (grass-like material) or platinillo (banana-like leaves) is extremely rare). All recent houses have modern roofs of tin sheets, even if the houses themselves are still of horizontal wooden poles.

We will be showing the results of the 3-dimensional studies of Mayan house architecture in the coming months, on our www.maya-archaeology.org web site.

 
Print
E-mail

Finally, full-sized 3D signage at last possible

Posted September 25, 2015

Since so many people around the world ask us how they can produce 3D signage, we had to caution print shops that most normal 3D printers can only produce an item a few centimeters in size.

So for past years, the best way to produce 3D signage was with other techniques (which we detail in our lectures and in our FLAAR Reports).

Now all this has changed. Now a company has developed a new chemistry (a new build-up material) and new 3D imaging concepts to allow creating objects 1.8 meters in height, 1.5 meters in width, and 1.2 METERS in depth.

Wow, sure is a breakthrough.

Innovation is what pushes progress, and this will cause ripples among all the other competitors, which will result in better 3D printers in all aspects (and all sizes).

Because the Hellmuth family background is architecture (HOK Architects (father and cousin) and Hellmuth & Bicknese (brother) are two examples), we have a long term interest in all aspects of architecture: especially 3D models. So in past years we have visited Objet Geometries world headquarters. This is a 3D printer that actually uses printheads.

By coincidence last week we were in the same restaurant as a team from Stratasys 3D printer company. So we are seeing 3D everywhere.

The new giant sized 3D technology is from Massivit, www.massivit3D.com. We hope to see this up close and in-person when possible.
www.massivit3d.com is the new giant size company

 
Print
E-mail

3D PRINTSHOW, co-located with Sign Istanbul

Updated September 24, 2015

Two of us from FLAAR Reports are eagerly attended 3D PRINTSHOW, co-located with Sign Istanbul.

We congratulate the organizers of both expos (IFO for Sign Istanbul and Tarsus 3D for PRINTSHOW team) for co-locating together.

Of course in actuality, these are 3D additive manufacturing machines, previously called rapid prototypers. But the jargon “3D printers” is more catchy, more alluring. So even though 90% of these machines do not use printheads (they extrude melted plastics and other technologies and chemistries), worldwide they are (mis)labeled as 3D printers. But they are definitely 3 dimensional.

FLAAR has been evaluating actual real 3D printers for many years back already (using either HP, Canon, or Ricoh printheads). We have visited training centers in USA and also the world headquarters for Objet Geometries. Object Geometries is now one of the brands of Stratasys.

One of our interests is to learn what technologies and chemistries can best produce 3D signage and 3D graphics. We will be lecturing on this topic at GOA 2016 in Miami. Last month Dr Nicholas gave two lectures on 3D signage in Johannesburg, South Africa. And last week we enjoyed visiting 3D PRINTSHOW, co-located with Sign Istanbul 2015.

Sign IstanbulWe hope to see you at both 3D PRINTSHOW and Sign Istanbul in beautiful Istanbul, Turkey, in 2016.

Tuyap Fair and Congress Center, Istanbul, Turkey, 29 September through 2 October, 2016
www.signistanbul.com

 
Print
E-mail

Recommending attending SIGGRAPH 2015

Posted June 16, 2015

We cover 3D in unique ways which are not written about elsewhere. Plus Dr Nicholas Hellmuth lectures around the world on 3D printing. However our focus is far beyond "3D printers" since to create eye-catching 3D signage your image has to be life-sized. 99% of the 3D printers can't produce more than a few inches in height. So Dr Nicholas has been reviewing and writing about every other technology to produce real 3D signage. In fact he has been lecturing on this topic and/or writing for trade magazines about 3D production in USA, Africa, and Dubai.

Of course we are also interested in 3D graphic design for future animation, which is one of many reasons why we will be writing about what is great to see at SIGGRAPH 2015.

SIGGRAPH 2015,
conferences, 9-13 August 2015
Exhibition, 11-13-August 2015

http://s2015.siggraph.org

Melanny Quinonez has been researching and writing about Wacom pen tablets and Andrea Mendoza has researched information related to 3D technologies.

Sketchbook pro software aplicacion dibujo pintura evaluacion AutoDesk FLAAR Reports Tabletas gráficas Wacom evaluación Como usar FLAAR Reports Sketchbook Pro Drawing app Painting software AutoDesk FLAAR Reports Graphic Tablets Wacom iPad Drawing painting FLAAR Reports
Ceiba pentandra 3D DJI Phantom 2 review scanning Drone FLAAR Reports 3D scanning moving objects 2015 Flaar Reports
 
Print
E-mail

3D scanners at DEAL 2015 trade show, Dubai

Updated Junel 17, 2015
Posted April 15, 2015

Dr Nicholas Hellmuth (FLAAR) was at DEAL trade show in Dubai this week, flown there by IEC, the organizers of this theme park expo.

We had a meeting with Andrei Vakulenko, VP New Markets, Artec Group, to look at their whole body scanner.

This meeting was arranged via ME Printer magazine editor introducing FLAAR to ACTIVE, the PR agency for Artec in Dubai (we write articles for ME Printer magazine for many years).

palo de Campeche tinto Haematoxylum campechianum Guatemala Belize logwood
Dr Hellmuth and Andrei Vakulenko, VP New Markets, Artec Group (3D scanners) at DEAL 2015 in Dubai.


Nicholas Hellmuth Full body 3D ScanNicholas Hellmuth Full body 3D ScanNicholas Hellmuth Full body 3D Scan
Full body 3D scan of Dr Hellmuth, made by New Markets, Artec Group

 

 
Print
E-mail

3D Printers at APPPEXPO this July in Shanghai:

Virtually every signage printer trade magazine in the world has done articles on "3D printers" in the last several months. Even Drupa said that 3D printers would be its feature for 2016.

But do these PR people have any idea that most "3D printers" are not printers at all. Most lay down melted plastics. Only a few use printheads.

Even the FESPA official expo daily newspaper had a feature article on 3D printers. Yet 3D printers at FESPA last week, sorry, almost none on exhibit at all. The few "3D printers" turned out to be sublimation systems to sublimate onto 3D objects which already existed.

If you want to see many different brands of 3D rapid prototypers then come to APPPEXPO 2014 this July in Shanghai. This is the largest printer, signage, advertising expo in the world (for wide-format inkjet printers, inks, media, laminators, coaters, cutters it is larger than Drupa+FESPA+USA expos all put together.

FLAAR attends APPPEXPO every year, indeed we fly five of our team here. We will be there to see whats new and interesting in 3-dimensional signage (of all technologies).

 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 3

FREE FLAAR DOWNLOADS



FLAAR Network sites:


FLAAR Mesoamerica, Guatemala e-mail ReaderService@FLAAR.org | © FLAAR Network. 2010. All rights reserved. Redesign March, 2008 Use of this website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use. Any problem with this site please report it to the webmaster, or if you note any error, omission, or have a different opinion on a review, please contact the review editor,

Copyright © 2016. 3d-scanners-3d-software-reviews.org. Powered by FLAAR